Skip to content

An Opportunity I’ll Turn Down

May 24, 2010

This morning, after reading this article – Opportunities You Should Turn Down – I made a decision.

I’d been offered some extra work up at school, working with a student that has some learning and behaviour difficulties.

I’m already at school working with 2 boys with ‘special needs’.  I love the work I’m doing.  I come home some days completely and utterly exhausted, both mentally and physically, but I love my job.  I’m helping with their education and ensuring that they have the best possible entry from school in to the ‘real’ world.

And I would have been doing the same with this other student.

But…  I was in two minds.  So I took a long, hard look at the offer (opportunity) and said “No thank you.”

I kind of feel guilty about the decision, but I know that it is in the best interest of my own family, present work and business life.  All will not suffer the same as if I had of said “Yes”.

Are there some opportunities that you should have said “No” to?  And are you like me, and get the guilts when you do say “No”?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 2:02 AM

    Tasha: Congratulations on taking that step and looking out for yourself.

    • May 25, 2010 6:07 AM

      Thanks Alyson. I’m feeling a lot better about the decision this morning. A night to sleep on it has eased the guilty feeling.
      Cheers,
      Tasha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

